The Gluten-Free Diet: Foods, Menus, FAQs, and Recipes

The Gluten-Free Diet

Everything you need to know about the Gluten-Free Diet plan, including foods to eat, menus, FAQs, shopping lists, and more.

As a result of greater public knowledge of gluten sensitivity, an increasing number of people are embracing gluten-free eating. In general, a gluten-free diet is a way of eating that avoids foods that contain gluten. Gluten is a protein that may be found in a number of foods, including wheat, rye, and barley, among others. Aside from that, it imparts flexibility and moistness to the food, assisting it in maintaining its form, notably in the case of bread. It also aids in the rising of the bread as well as the development of a chewy texture. This diet is vital in managing celiac disease symptoms and other gluten-related health issues. While alleviating stomach issues, this diet also reduces chronic inflammation and promotes an increase in energy.

What is the Gluten-Free Diet Plan?

It is also feasible to follow this diet even if you have not been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical problem. This is owing to the diet’s purported advantages, which include improved health, weight loss, and greater energy, but additional study is needed to substantiate these claims. It is essential to pay close attention to food selections, dietary components, and nutritional composition when following a gluten-free diet. When done correctly and consistently, following a gluten-free diet that focuses primarily on whole, unprocessed foods has a lot in common with the Mediterranean diet. To follow a gluten-free eating plan, simple substitutions for whole wheat and other wheat varieties, such as farro, are all that is required.

Foods to Eat on the Gluten-Free Diet

The Gluten-Free Diet
Foods to eat

Note that many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet.

  • Fruits: Citrus, Bananas, Apples, Berries, Peaches, Pears
  • Vegetables: Cauliflower, Broccoli, Cruciferous, Spinach, Kale, Swiss Chard, Potatoes, Squash, Peppers, Mushrooms, Onions, Carrots, Radishes.
  • Nuts and Seeds: Sunflower Seeds, Pecans, Almonds, Peanuts, Macadamia Nuts, Cashew Nuts, Sesame Seeds, Pine Nuts, Walnuts, Pistachios, Brazil Nuts.
  • Dairy: Cottage Cheese, Yogurt, Milk, Butter, Cream.
  • Healthy Fats and Oils: Olive Oil, Avocados, Avocado Oil, Coconut Oil, Sesame Oil, Canola Oil, Sunflower Oil.
  • Spices: Tamari, Coconut Aminos, Vinegar.
  • Whole Grains: Amaranth, Millet, Buckwheat, Brown Rice, Quinoa

Foods Not to Eat

Avoid the following foods on this diet.

  • Grains: Whole Wheat, Wheat Berries, Graham, Bulgur, Farro, Farina, Durum, Kamut, Bromated flour, Spelt, Rye, Barley, Triticale.
  • Processed Meats: Hot Dogs, Pepperoni, Sausage, Salami, Bacon.
  • Bread
  • Cakes 
  • Pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and Crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Matzo
  • Pasta
  •  Potato Chips

What to Drink on the Gluten-Free Diet

The Gluten-Free Diet
what to drink

While these beverages are gluten-free, because of the additional sugar and alcohol content, they should be consumed in moderation.

  • Water
  • Fresh Fruit Juice
  • Coffee
  • Tea
  • Wine 
  • Hard cider
  • Sports Drinks
  • Soda
  • Energy Drinks
  • Lemonade
  • Vodka
  • Gin
  • Whisky
  • Brandy
  • Rum
  • Tequila

What Not to Drink

The following drinks are not allowed on a gluten-free diet.

  • Ale
  • Porter
  • Stout
  • Malt Beverage 
  • Flavored Beverages
  • Wine Coolers

Summary

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our gluten-free eating plan. You are welcome to use our free embedded checklists at any time. This will be useful for meal preparation and grocery shopping.